ADHD

By Demetri Thomas

In 2009, I was diagnosed with ADHD (Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder). It was said to be the cause of all of the problems I had school wise. To me, it made me feel that I was irregular. I was prescribed medication to “help me” and which it did. But it also caused many problems for me mentally.  I took methylphenidate. A drug that really messed me up as a kid. That drug made me silent. It made me nothing. I had very dark thoughts after taking them. Dark thoughts that made me have suicidal intentions. It made me stop eating. I lost over forty pounds and was very unhealthy because of the weight loss. Even though I told my parents what they were doing to me, I couldn’t stop taking them because my grades in elementary school mattered to them. I got in fights. I was very angry. But, I still had good grades. I went through so much from 2009 to 2013. In just four years, I had changed completely. Were good grades really more important than me? I don’t blame my mother for putting me on pills that made me a dark person, I blame a country that cant accept people for their differences at first glance. A country that has doctors that always want to put someone on pills at their first meeting. Is ADHD a problem? No. Its just a kid or an adult that isnt like everyone else. Just because they cant focus doesn’t mean they are a mistake. It doesn’t mean that they are a problem. It just means that they are different and them being different needs to be cherished and celebrated. Not thrown on pills to try and make them like everyone else. And if it’s that bad of a problem, use the money at your countries disposal and try and figure better alternatives for a kid that doesn’t include a pill. That is all I have to say on the matter. Just know if you are reading this and you struggle from ADHD, just stay strong. You may struggle but you will come out on top. No matter what, STAY STRONG.

Please, Share this. – Demetri 

Leave a comment